I was honored to be given the opportunity to listen to and review the new CD by Corneille, “The Birth of Cornelius” (Motown Records). New York Times named him as one of the “hottest new stars” for 2009. After listening to his CD, I can see why. Corneille cites Michael Jackson, Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder and original Motown Music as his influences.

Those influences are prominently on each track of his CD, with some tracks even having the ‘tropical feel’ that I enjoy so much. His sound is very mellow and relaxing – perfect accompaniment for a candle lit bubble bath and glass of wine!

In Corneille’s own words:

“Music has been the place where I could go to hide and forget about the world. I couldn’t make sense of a majority of the things that happened to me, so I used music as a shield. But over time, music has become a vehicle to channel out everything that I’ve been keeping from myself for all these years. And the new album is definitely the most honest, real assessment of everything that’s happened in my life, because I’m not trying to hide as much.”—Corneille

The release of The Birth of Cornelius doesn’t just mark the arrival of a major new artist on Motown Records. The album chronicles the latest chapter for a musician who has already had a remarkable career—and an extraordinary life. Though virtually unknown to an American audience, Corneille sells out arenas in other parts of the world. His albums have reached monumental, Diamond-selling status in France. And those accomplishments follow struggles and challenges in his personal history that are truly beyond comprehension.

Feel free to read the full Corneille Interview here – it’s very enlightening and poignant, and gives you an idea where his soulful music truly comes from.

The songs on this album are:

  1. Back to Life
  2. All of My Love
  3. Liberation
  4. A Man of This World
  5. Murder
  6. Foolish Heart
  7. Too Much of Everything
  8. Home is By You
  9. I’ll Never Call You Home Again
  10. Sweet Dependency
  11. Heaven
The album was released by Universal Motown and available in stores March 10th, and is available for purchase or download via Amazon.com and iTunes. Treat yourself to some great music – you’ll be glad you did.

For more information on Corneille, please visit www.corneillemusic.com (coming soon).


  1. I listened to some of this the other day and it’s so smooth and feel-good. I really enjoyed it!

  2. You might be wondering what happened to the rest of the wonderful comments… Blogger misplaced them.  JS-Kits had them, but I decided to disable that, so it made the comments disappear. But not to worry, I made sure I saved the previous comments in image form…if you'd like to see what all the beautiful people said, click here:

    Cornielle Review Comments

Comments are closed.